Lincoln wrestlers grab championship in Morton tournament

Article Source Written By: Randy Sharer

The Lincoln High School wrestling team scored 206.5 points to win the 11-team Bob and Liz Schnarr Invitational on Saturday at Morton where runner-up Normal Community scored 203. Deer Creek-Mackinaw was ninth (78).

Area winners included Lincoln’s Austin O’Donoghue (145) and JT Guzzardo (195), Dee-Mack’s Payton Murphy (106) and the NCHS trio of Brock Bacus (120), John Carter Owen (138) and Ethan Johnson (285).

Other NCHS placers were Cody Correll (2nd at 126), Anderson Ryan (2nd at 145), Jacob Bergelin (2nd at 160), Will Naour (3rd at 113) and Jacob Ogg (3rd at 220).

Also placing for Lincoln were Trevor Bree (2nd at 132), Isaac Decker (3rd at 120), Brandon Sweitzer (3rd at 152) and Jared Merriman (3rd at 182). Dee-Mack placers were Branson Bottorff (2nd at 285) and Kyle Huff (2nd at 170).

GCMS-Fisher 1st at Argenta: GCMS-Fisher scored 212 points to win the Argenta-Oreana Invitational by eight points over runner-up Rochester.

The Falcons’ three champions were Cale Horsch (126), Kaden Gream (145) and Payton Kean (195). Placing second for GCMS-Fisher was Braylen Kean (170). Taking third for the Falcons were Andrew Ferguson (120), Cole Maxey (132) and Markus Miguel (285).

GCMS-Fisher went 8-3 in the final round and won every head-to-head matchup with Rochester to overcome a 14-point deficit.