Maroon Wrestling Takes Two of Three Duals at D3 National Challenge

Article Source

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The No. 13 University of Chicago wrestling squad took two of three duals in an impressive performance at the D3 National Challenge, held Saturday at Case Western Reserve University.

The Maroons defeated Alma (41-0) and the host Spartans (44-12) in two dominant matches before falling to Millikin in a tight one, 22-18.

Seniors Kyle Peisker (174 pounds) and Steve Bonsall (157 pounds) and rookie Griffin Seyfried (133) each went a perfect 3-0 on the day with Peisker picking up one pin and two technical falls.

Bonsall and Seyfried also each earned a pin and sophomore Ben Sarasin (184) was also perfect on Saturday with a 2-0 record and a pin against Alma. First-year Cole Firbranz (285) went 2-0 with a pin over Alma to round out the Maroons’ multiple match winners.

Jason Crary (165), Caleb Jeffreys (197, pin), Dominick Reo (184, pin) and Will Britain (165) also went a perfect 1-0 for UChicago to round out the Maroons’ leaders.

“It was a pretty good outing,” said Head Coach Leo Kocher. “Our six upper weight classes went 16-2 on the day. We gave up six points each dual because we could not put someone in the 125-pound weight class on the mat. Our loss to Millikin was a 5-5 split on matches. It was a hard-fought dual against a team with four individuals ranks in the top 10 in Division III. Both teams had come from behind wins.”

125 – Nicolas Dawson (A) won by forfeit
133 – Griffin Seyfried (UC) def. Will Kidder by fall, 2:08
141 – Brendan Ladd (A) def. Chaise Hauck by major decision, 16-4
149 – Alec Gleason (UC) def. Mason Priest by decision, 6-1
157 – Steve Bonsall (UC) def. Joseph Muzzin by fall, 5:19
165 – Will Britain (UC) def. Jayce Kuehnlein by decision, 10-4
174 – Kyle Peisker (UC) def. Lucas Brewer by tech fall, 16-0 (3:14)
184 – Ben Sarasin (UC) def. Gus Richter by fall, :55
197 – Nick Carola (UC) def. Austin Popp by fall, :47
285 – Cole Fibranz (UC) def. Peter Nicaj by fall, 1:01

125 – Adam Kates (CWRU) won by forfeit
133 – Griffin Seyfried (UC) def. Duncan Clayton by tech fall, 17-2 (5:09)
141 – Gage Bayless (UC) def. Manhattan Gatton by fall, :50
149 – Mitchell Arch (CWRU) def. Alec Gleason by fall, :32
157 – Steve Bonsall (UC) def. Brandon Barton by fall, 4:22
165 – Jason Crary (UC) def. Issac Collier by decision, 3-0
174 – Kyle Peisker (UC) def. Kyle Roberts by fall, 1:51
184 – Dominick Reo (UC) def. Stephen Andryc by fall, 5:27
197 – Caleb Jeffreys (UC) def. Joey Shulik by fall, 1:49
285 – Will Hare (UC) def. Grant Robinson by fall, 1:55

125 – Joey Rivera (MU) won by forfeit
133 – Griffin Seyfried (UC) def. Zac Blaisioli by decision, 4-3
141 – Sean McKenna (MU) def. Gage Bayless by major decision, 13-0
149 – Peter McCusker (MU) def. Alec Gleason by decision, 3-2
157 – Steve Bonsall (UC) def. Tristan Birt by major decision, 11-0
165 – Bradan Birt (MU) def. Maguire Pecci by fall, 4:43
174 – Kyle Peisker (UC) def. Jake Tisza by tech fall, 14-0 (3:03)
184 – Ben Sarasin (UC) def. Taylor McGiffen by decision, 8-4
197 – Logan Hagerbaumer (MU) def. Nick Carola by decision, 10-4
285 – Cole Fibranz (UC) def. Frank Tomaskovic by decision, 7-2


  • Wednesday, Jan. 15: North Central at UChicago, 7 p.m. CT